No manufactured home (mobile home) or manufactured building (modular unit) shall be installed within the State of Alabama unless the installation is performed by a certified installer who is certified by the Alabama
Manufactured Housing Commission. To determine if a person, firm, or corporation is currently certified to perform installations in the State of Alabama you may contact the Alabama Manufactured Housing
Commission at 334-242-4036.
Click on the following lists for currently certified installers and approved products:
It is a violation of the law to contract with an uncertified installer.
How to Become a Certified Installer
Each applicant for certification as an installer must complete an application form and submit it to the Commission for approval along with a certification fee.
Application for Installer Certification
Each applicant is required to submit a valid bond in the amount of $20,000 and general liability insurance coverage in the amount of $100,000.
AMHC License-Permit Bond Form
Each applicant shall satisfactorily complete an installer’s course conducted by the Commission and pass a written or oral test prior to being issued a certification to install manufactured homes or
manufactured buildings (modulars). The Commission will offer the course on various dates during the year at locations throughout the state. A valid driver’s license is required.
Installer Training Info
Each applicant shall be required to demonstrate his or her United States citizenship. Evidence of United States citizenship shall be demonstrated by the presentation of a copy of the applicant’s birth certificate,
pertinent pages of the applicant’s United States valid or expired passport, or any other documents or methods of proof issued by the Federal government pursuant to the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952,
or any other documents listed in section 29 (k) of Act 2011-535, the Beason-Hammon Alabama Taxpayer and Citizenship Protection Act.
How to Buy Installer Decals
Certified Installers are required to purchase installation decals from the Commission to be placed on each home or building installed. This decal shall denote the date of installation and the name and
certification number of the installer. The certified installer must place the decal on the home or building immediately upon site location and prior to installation. Installation decals shall not be transferred.
They must be used by the certified installer who purchased them.
Certified installers can purchase installer decals by completing an Installation Decal Request Form or
Modular Installation Decal Request Form and mailing it along with a check or money order to the Commission.
Decals can also be purchased online by clicking the following link.
Buy Installer Decals Online
If you are not a certified installer with the Commission, you will not be allowed to purchase an installer decal. Please contact the Commission for certification information at 334-242-4036 ext 23 or see information above.
Site Preparation: Information & Requirements
Click for additional information regarding proper site preparation.
Site Preparation Form
- The site must have a grade that will provide water drainage away from the home site.
- The site must be properly crowned and sloped so that water will not stand under the home or run under the home.
- New homes must have site preparation that meets the requirements set forth in 3285.203 of the HUD Model Manufactured Home Installation Standards :
"All drainage must be diverted away from the home and must slope a minimum of one-half inch per foot away from the foundation for the first ten feet."
Why is Site Preparation Important?
Proper site preparation prevents water build-up under the home, which may cause shifting or settling of the foundation, dampness and moisture in the home (which could lead to the presence of mold and mildew), damage to siding and bottom board, buckling of the walls and floors, and problems related to the operation of doors and windows.